Performance Characteristics Subcommittee

Performance Characteristics Subcommittee Scope

  • Study and review the treatment of loss, impedance, exciting current, inrush current and other performance characteristics and their methods of application, measurement or test for liquid filled transformers and reactors.

  • Develop and maintain related standards, recommended practices and guides for such criteria.
  • Coordinate with other technical committees, groups, societies and associations as required.

Chair:

Ed teNyenhuis

Technical Manager

ABB

Brampton, ON, Canada

Phone: (905) 460-3210

E-Mail: edt@ieee.org

Vice Chair:

Craig Stiegemeier

Technology Director

ABB Inc. TRES North America

St. Louis, MO USA 

Phone: +1 (314) 679-4568

E-Mail: craig.stiegemeier@ieee.org

Secretary:

Sanjib K. Som

Pennsylvania Transformer

Pittsburgh, PA  USA

Phone: (540) 204-7670

E-Mail: ssom@patransformer.com

SC Agenda/Topics for Next Meeting

Fall 2017 PSC Agenda  3Oct2017

Previous SC Meeting Discussions/Topics

 

Working Groups/Task Forces

Project or Standard Number

Title

Status

WG or
TF

Chair / Vice Chair

% Complete

Documents – Contact the Chair for Password and Access

Current Draft

WG/TF Webpage / Documents

P60076-16

Standard Requirements for Wind Turbine Generator Transformers

Active

New Guide

PAR Exp.: 12/31/16

WG

Philip Hopkinson - Chair

Phone: (704) 846-3290

phopkinson@hvolt.com

Donald E. Ayers - Secretary

Phone: (704) 243-3222

donald.ayers@ieee.org

95%

.

P60076-16 Web Page

TF to C57.12.00 Continuous Revision WG

IEEE Standard General Requirements for Liquid-Immersed Distribution, Power, and Regulating Transformers

Active

TF

Tauhid H. Ansari - Chair

314- 420-8597

tauhid.ansari@us.abb.com

Enrique Betancourt - Secretary

ebetanco@ieee.org

-

.

TF C57.12.00 Web Page

TF to C57.12.90 Continuous Revision WG

Test Code

Active

TF

Mark Perkins  - Chair

Phone: (314) 679-4836

mark.perkins@us.abb.com

Craig Stiegemeier - Secretary

Phone: (314) 679-4568

craig.stiegemeier@ieee.org

-

.

Fall 2017 Agenda 23Oct2017

Spring 2017 C57.12.90 Test Code WG Minutes  23Oct2017

C57.12.90 Section 9.5 zero seq with Modifications  14Mar2013

TF to C57.12.90 Continuous Revision WG

Section 13 - Sound Level Measurement

Active

TF

Ramsis Girgis  - Chair

Phone: (314) 679-4803

ramsis.girgis@us.abb.com

Barry Beaster - Secretary

Phone: (636) 677-3421 x392

blbeaster@ieee.org

-

.

Fall 2014 TF Minutes  28MAR2015

C57.18.10 IEEE Standard Practices and Requirements for Semiconductor Power Rectifier Transformers

Active

Reaffirmed 2009

Rev. Due: 1/30/2019

C57.18.10a

Rev. Due: 1/30/2018

Par Exp.: 12/31/20

.

Sheldon Kennedy - Chair

Phone: (716) 896-6500

skennedy@niagaratransformer.com

Bill Whitehead - Vice-Chair

David Walker - Secretary

Phone: (520)484-5338

djwalker1260@gmail.com

50% C57.18.10 D2 19Oct2017 Fall 2017 Agenda  19Oct2017

Spring 2017 Unapproved Minutes  19Oct2017

PC57.21

IEEE Standard Requirements, Terminology, and Test Code for Shunt Reactors Rated Over 500 kVA

Active

Approved 2008

Rev. Due: 12/31/2018

Par Exp.: 12/31/18

WG

Sanjib Som- Chair

Phone: (540) 204-7670

ssom@patransformer.com

Arturo Del Rio - Secretary

Phone: (416) 298-8108 x404

Arturo.delrio@trench-group.com

70%

.

PC57.21 Web Page

PC57.32

IEEE Standard Requirements, Terminology, and Testing Procedures for Neutral Grounding Devices

Inactive

Approved 2015

Rev. Due: 12/31/2025

WG

Sheldon Kennedy - Chair

Phone: (716) 896-6500

skennedy@niagaratransformer.com

Tom Melle - Vice Chair

Phone: (919) 239-5943

trmelle@ncsu.edu

Fred Elliott - Secretary

Phone: (360) 418-2269

felliott@ieee.org

-

. .

C57.105

IEEE Guide for Application of Transformer
Connections in Three-Phase Distribution Systems

Active

Reaffirmed 2008

Rev Due: 12/31/2018

PAR Exp. 12/31/2019

.

Rogerio Verdolin - Chair

Phone: (403) 850-4304

roger.verdolin@shaw.ca

Ben Garcia - Vice-Chair

Phone: (714) 895-0787

Benjamin.Garcia@sce.com

50%

C57.105 D4 2Apr2017

.

C57.109

IEEE Guide for Liquid-Immersed Transformers Through-Fault-Current Duration

Active

Reaffirmed 2008

Rev Due: 12/31/2018

PAR Exp. 12/31/2019

.

Vinay Mehrotra- Chair

Phone: (262) 547-0121 x1353

Vinay.Mehrotra@spx.com

Hemchandra Shertukde- Vice-Chair

Phone: (860) 768-4847

Shertukde@hartford.edu

Jason Varnell - Secretary

Phone: (919) 221-9793

jason.varnell@spx.com

50%

C57.109 D1.1 19Mar2017

.

C57.110

IEEE Recommended Practice for Establishing Transformer Capability When Supplying Nonsinusoidal Load Currents

Active

Pub. 2008

Rev Due: 12/31/2018

PAR Exp. 12/31/2018

.

Richard Marek - Chair

Phone: (804) 383-2376

Richard.P.Marek@usa.dupont.com

Samuel L. Sharpless - Secretary

Phone: (407)-257-0209

slsharpl@rimkus.com

70%

.

C57110 Webpage

C57.120

IEEE Loss Evaluation Guide for Power Transformers and Reactors

Inactive

Approved 2017

Rev Due: 12/31/2027

.

Rogerio Verdolin - Chair

Phone: (403) 850-4304

roger.verdolin@shaw.ca

Rod Sauls - Vice-Chair

Phone: (205) 257-4143

RESAULS@southernco.com

-

.

.

C57.123

IEEE Guide for Transformer Loss Measurement

Inactive

Approved 2010

Rev. Due: 6/17/2020

.

Ed TeNyenhuis - Chair

Phone: (519) 837-4691

ed.g.tenyenhuis@ca.abb.com

-

.

.

PC57.133

Guide for Short-Circuit Testing of Distribution and Power Transformers

Inactive

Rev. Due: 12/31/2019

PAR Withdrawn

.

Marcel Fortin - Chair

Phone: 450-922-0925

fortin.marcel@ieee.org

-

.

.

C57.136

IEEE Guide for Sound Level Abatement and Determination for Liquid- Immersed Power Transformers and Shunt Reactors Rated Over 500 kVA

Inactive

Reaffirmed 2005

Rev. Due: 12/31/2018

PAR Withdrawn

WG

Steve Antosz - Chair

Phone: (412) 498-3916

santosz@comcast.net

-

.

.

C57.142

A Guide To Describe The Occurrence And Mitigation Of Switching Transients Induced By Transformer-Breaker Interaction

Active

Approved 2010

Rev. Due: 12/8/2020

.

Jim McBride - Chair

Phone: (770)460-6626

jim@jmxservices.com

Xose Lopez-Fernandez - Vice-Chair

xmlopez@uvigo.es

Tom Melle - Secretary

Phone: (919)239-5943

tom.melle.us@ieee.org

10%

PC57.142 D1   31Oct2017

Fall 2017 WG Minutes 2Nov2017

F17 Special Terminated Lightning Impulse 2Nov2017

F17 Impact of Different Neutral Grounding Methods - Ziomek 31Oct2017

 

Spring 2017 WG Minutes 31Oct2017

S17 Reactor Switching Transients - McBride 31Oct2017

Spring 2016 HV & EHV Transients Paper 22Mar2016

Spring 2016 TF Agenda 22Mar2016

Fall 2015 TF Minutes - Memphis 22Mar2016

C57.149

Guide for the Application and Interpretation of Frequency Response Analysis for Oil Immersed Transformers

Inactive

Approved 2012

Rev. Due: 12/31/2022

.

Charles Sweetser - Chair

Phone: (781) 672-6214

charles.sweetser@omicronusa.com

- . .

PC57.158

Guide for the Application of Tertiary and Stabilizing Windings in Power Transformers

Active

New Guide

PAR Exp.: 12/31/2018

WG

Enrique Betancourt - Chair

Phone: (52-80)-30-2135

enrique.betancourt.ramirez@indsys.ge.c

60%

PC57.158 Draft 7   29Mar2017

WG C57.158 Web Page

PC57.159

Guide for Application in Distributed Photovoltaic(DPV) Transformers in Power Generation Systems

Inactive

Approved 2016

Rev. Due: 12/31/26

WG

Hemchandra M. Shertukde - Chair

Phone: (860) 768-4847

Shertukde@hartford.edu

Mathieu Sauzay - Vice Chair

Phone: 33478778164

Mathieu.Sauzay@jst-transformers.com

Aleksandr Levin- Secretary

Phone: (802) 751-3352

aleksandr.levin@wicor.com

 

.

.

PC57.164

Guide for theoretical evaluation of the ability to withstand effects of short circuit on Fluid-Filled Power Transformers, Regulators, and Reactors

Active

New Guide

PAR Exp.: 12/31/2020

WG

Sanjay Patel  - Chair

Phone:

s.patel@smitusa.com

Raj Ahuja - Vice Chair

Phone: (408) 209-5513

rajahuja2@icloud.com

Joe Watson - Chair

Phone: (561) 371-9138

joe_watson@ieee.org

10% PC57.164 D1a  06Sep2017

PAR Detail 12Sep2017

TR Testing - KEMA Experience  12Sep2017

TF

Core Gassing and Grounding

Active

 

TF

David Buckmaster - Chair

Phone: 980-321-8381

david.buckmaster@shawgrp.com

Donald E. Ayers - Secretary

Phone: (704) 243-3222

donald.ayers@ieee.org

-

.

Fall 2014 TF Agenda 04Oct2014

Summary PCS Comments 30Sep2014

TF Meeting Minutes:

22Aug2014 Minutes

01Aug2014 Minutes

11Jul2014 Minutes

06Jun2014 Minutes

TF

Short Circuit Design Criteria

Active

 

TF

David Buckmaster - Chair

Phone: 980-321-8381

david.buckmaster@shawgrp.com

-

. Fall 2015 TF Agenda 23Sep2015

This page is maintained by: webmaster

Last update: 22-Nov-2017